Skip to Main Content

June 19, 2015: Former Candidate For Delegate Charged With Felony Theft And Perjury

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                            JUNE 19, 2015

  

FORMER CANDIDATE FOR DELEGATE CHARGED WITH FELONY THEFT AND PERJURY

 

State Prosecutor Emmet C. Davitt announced today that the Anne Arundel County Grand Jury has returned a thirty-eight count indictment charging Steven D. Wyatt, 43, a 2014 candidate for the Maryland House of Delegates and former president of The North County High School Athletic Boosters Association (NCHSABA) with felony theft scheme, perjury and other charges related to his handling of the finances for his campaign and for the club.

 

It is alleged that, during his tenure as President of the NCHSABA, Mr. Wyatt made numerous unauthorized ATM withdrawals from NCHSABA’s bank account and used those funds for the benefit of himself and his 2014 political campaign. In one instance, it is alleged that Mr. Wyatt used NCHSABA’s debit card to make a purchase of approximately $1,300 at Mission BBQ for the benefit of his campaign for the House of Delegates.

 

The indictment further alleges that Mr. Wyatt filed Campaign Finance reports with the State Board of Elections in which he reported making personal contributions to his campaign when, in fact, the contributions were made with funds taken from NCHSABA’s bank account. He certified that those reports were complete and accurate under the penalty of perjury.

 

Mr. Wyatt is also charged with making unlawful disbursements from the campaign finance account.  Under Maryland law, a candidate is prohibited from making such disbursements.

 

State Prosecutor Emmet C. Davitt stated: “Stealing funds intended for high school students while holding a position of trust is a reprehensible offense.  Using those stolen funds to finance one’s campaign for public office is simply appalling.”

 

The maximum penalty for theft having a value between $10,000.00 and $100,000.00 is fifteen years imprisonment and a $15,000 fine. Although charged, the Defendant is presumed innocent unless and until there is a conviction.


PW-WEB01